Library Commission

The New Mexico State Library Commission was created in 1975 and is composed of five members. Four members of the commission are appointed by the governor from among resident citizens of the state interested in and informed with regard to library conditions. The appointees represent different sections of the state. The fifth member is appointed by the New Mexico Public Education Department.    

The commission provides advice, upon request of the state librarian, on matters and duties of the State Library and any other issues related to libraries in New Mexico.

The commission shall have a minimum of four meetings or hearings per year and are open to the public. All minutes of the commission are public records, and may be examined upon request. Officers of the commission are chairperson and vice-chairperson. Officers are elected annually, at the first meeting held at the beginning of the fiscal year.

Those interested in serving on the New Mexico State Library Commission should complete an application found here.

 Strategic Plan


Strategic Plan 2020-2022

Upcoming Meetings

October 21, 11am, in person at the NMLA conference, Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North


Agendas & Minutes

October 1, 2021  Agenda / Draft Minutes

May 21, 2021  Report /  Agenda / Draft Minutes

February 12, 2021  Report / Minutes

October 23, 2020   ReportMinutes

February 5, 2020  Report / Minutes

October 11, 2019  Minutes / Report

April 29, 2019  Minutes / Report

November 1, 2018 Notes / State Library report

January 25, 2018  Agenda / Minutes

November 2, 2017 Agenda / Minutes / State Library report

July 12, 2017 Agenda / Minutes / Bureau reports

April 5, 2017  AgendaMinutes

January 26, 2017  Agenda / Minutes

November 3, 2016 Agenda / Minutes  / attached Bureau reports

July 1, 2016 Agenda / Minutes

April 28, 2016 minutes / Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum, Las Cruces / Agenda

April 28, 2016 attachments:

January 1, 2016:  minutes / agenda

 Library Commissioners

Norice Lee
Professional Member
Las Cruces
Term Expires:  6/30/2019

Dean Smith
Professional Member/Chairperson
Term Expires:  6/30/2022

Elizabeth Martinez

Public Member
Santa Fe
Term Expires:  6/30/2020
 m armijo  Melissa Armijo

Public Education Department Representative

Term Expires 2027
Cynthia Shetter Cynthia Shetter
Public Member/Vice Chairperson
Los Lunas
Term expires: 6/30/2022